Dark Jewel Classic

  • Date: Saturday May 13, 2017
  • Racecourse: Scone Racecourse
  • Race Distance: 1400m
  • Conditions: Fillies & Mares, Quality Handicap
  • Prize Money: $200,000

2016 Dark Jewel Classic News

Kinshachi to back up in Tattersall’s Tiara

Kinshachi to back up in Tattersall’s Tiara

Four year old mare Kinshachi will take a huge step up in class when she backs up this week in the Group 1 $500,000 Sky Racing Tattersall’s Tiara (1350m) at Doomben on Saturday.

Jockey Michael Cahill, above, rides Kinshachi in the Tattersall’s Tiara at Doomben. Photo by Daniel Costello.

Kinshachi ran second to stablemate Maternal …

The 2017 Dark Jewel Classic is a Group 3 race held annually at Scone Racecourse as part of the two day Scone Cup Racing Carnival.

Bet on Dark Jewel Classic Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from Ladbrokes.com.au

The Dark Jewel Classic attracts some very talented fillies and mares from across NSW and even from interstate. Major stables in Sydney often send horses. Gai Waterhouse, Chris Waller, Kris Lees and the Hawkes family are just a few of the renowned trainers to have recently entered horses in the Dark Jewel Classic.

Raced across 1400m, the Dark Jewel Classic field is usually comprised of both proven sprinters and experienced mile runners.

Inaugurated in 1996, the Dark Jewel Classic was upgraded to a Listed race in 1999 before receiving Group 3 status following the 2013 edition. Paying an impressive prize pool of $200,000, the Dark Jewel Classic attracts trainers not only for a coveted Group win but also for the lucrative awards received by the victor. Run as the feature race on the second day of the Scone Carnival, the Dark Jewel Classic carries a little more prestige than the average Group 3 race.

The Dark Jewel Classic is a good preparatory race for sprints later in the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival up north, such as the Dane Ripper Stakes.

Modern editions do not at all resemble the early years of the Dark Jewel Classic, as the improved purse, field and even the track attract more widely raced and successful horses.

2017 Dark Jewel Classic Field

The Dark Jewel Classic field is announced on the Wednesday prior to the race, usually to considerable hype and expectation. One of the major events for fillies and mares over 1400m during that time of year, entrance into the Dark Jewel Classic field is highly contested.

The 2017 Dark Jewel Classic field is provided below.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp. Rating
1 520x21x137 ARTISTRY Peter & Paul Snowden Hugh Bowman 2 59kg 105
2 51024×9401 SHILLELAGH (NZ) Chris Waller Tye Angland 5 57kg 101
3 9x512213x5 SWEET REDEMPTION Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Adam Hyeronimus 14 57kg 101
4 x5411x3422 DAYSEE DOOM Ron Quinton Andrew Adkins (a) 3 56kg 99
5 37×8911706 ELLE LOU Chris Waller Glyn Schofield 12 55.5kg 98
6 30x97x339x I LOVE IT John Salanitri Robert Thompson 6 54kg 95
7 233x1117x3 KINSHACHI Darren Beadman Christian Reith 7 54kg 95
8 121435×260 EXTENSIBLE Peter & Paul Snowden Tim Clark 1 53kg 92
9 13x39x6074 TSARITSA Chris Waller Paul King 11 53kg 92
10 6850x605x0 SLIGHTLY SWEET Jason Coyle Ms Jess Taylor 13 53kg 91
11 1x5740x679 SERENE MAJESTY Peter & Paul Snowden Michael Dee 9 53kg 89
12 x45221x242 PROMPT RESPONSE Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Tommy Berry 4 53kg 82
13 00478×7605 JUST A BLUR Barbara Joseph & Paul Jones Blaike McDougall (a) 10 53kg 80
14 x21616x281 HEAVENLY ANNA Kerry Parker Jay Ford 8 53kg 77
15 0x872128x2 ALL IN THE REFLEXS Jason Coyle Ms Kathy O’Hara 15 53kg 71

2017 Dark Jewel Classic Nominations

The Dark Jewel Classic nominations usually feature a healthy range of decent talent. Released on the Monday before the race, the Dark Jewel Classic nominations are often scrutinised heavily by racing fans in an endeavour to determine the makeup of the final field early and thus take advantage of any ante-post markets.

The 2017 Dark Jewel Classic nominations is published here.

Dark Jewel Classic Results

Dark Jewel Classic results since 2001 can be found below.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2016 1 Danish Twist 2 Onemorezeta 3 Press Report  1:23.88
2015 1 Divertire 2 Calming Influence 3 Bound For Earth  1:23.17
2014 1 Seaside 2 Aerobatics 3 Myamira  1:22.68
2013 1 Arctic Flight 2 Pipette 3 Miss Stellabelle  1:22.86
2012 1 Upon This Rock 2 Shannara 3 Rose Of Peace  1:22.9
2011 1 Shannara 2 Dane Julia 3 Pontiana  1:23.05
2010 1 So Anyway 2 Purrpurrlena 3 Melpomene  1.22.57
2009 1 Rio Osa 2 Hairy 3 Portillo  1:23.63
2008 1 Sung 2 Judged 3 Litter  1:24.19
2007 1 Rosa’s Spur 2 Alverta 3 Leica Light  1:27.12
2006 1 Really Flying 2 Romare 3 Fritz’s Princess  1:24.11
2005 1 Kosta Nothin’ 2 Zinzin 3 Magsaya  1:23.73
2004 1 Romare 2 My Czech Chick 3 Native Jester  1:23.61
2003 1 Chuckle 2 Faith Hill 3 Provokes  1:23.5
2002 1 Hot Riff 2 Plain Crazy 3 Expresso Rose  1:22.27
2001 1 Nanny Maroon 2 Transfer 3 Crestfallen  1:23.21