Crystal Mile

The 2017 Crystal Mile is a Group 2 event run annually at Moonee Valley Racecourse right in the midst of October and the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. It’s one of the classics of the day being run over a 1600m trip and worth $200,000 to the winning connections.

The Crystal Mile takes added value from the fact it’s run on the same card as the Cox Plate, the highlight of the Moonee Valley race calendar and indeed the favourite event of thousands of punters right around Australia.

Given the timing of the race it attracts a field of horses which probably usually run in events worth more than the $200,000 on offer. In fact much of the field is usually made of Group 1 runners coming off events like the Toorak Handicap at Caulfield.

From this race a fair portion will head back to Group 1 territory for their next start  on the final day of the Melbourne Carnival at Flemington in the Emirates Stakes.

Horses which have experience around the tight Moonee Valley circuit often have an advantage over interstate rivals however most important is the ability of the horse to run solidly through the mile.

The 2009 winner Rangirangdoo ran second in the Group 1 Epsom Handicap before coming to this race and winning easily. No horse in recent history has managed to claim the Crystal Mile / Emirates Stakes double however the third placegetter in 2009 All American went on to win the Group 1 later in the spring.

Le Zagaletta won the event in 1999 before going on to finish runner-up in the 2000 and 2001 races.

On both those occasions the race was won by Weasel Will in an extremely rare double.

Ironically in 2002 it was Weasel Will who crossed the line second, that race won by Royal Code.

Rangirangdoo won this race in 2009 and has since gone on to claim multiple Group 1 victories.

2017 Crystal Mile Field

The Crystal Mile field usually features a fairly decent selection of milers. As a Group 2 weight for age mile, it’s not particularly surprising that some of the biggest names in racing feature in the Crystal Mile field. There’s always value to be found for discerning punters in the Crystal Mile field, but some hefty form study is required.

The 2017 Crystal Mile field will be published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 313x1119x0 IT’S SOMEWHAT (USA) James Cummings Kerrin McEvoy 1 59kg 113
2 91x705x600 LUCKY HUSSLER Darren Weir Blake Shinn 6 59kg 110
3 114119×072 BURNING FRONT Darren Weir Mark Zahra 9 59kg 104
4 116x1611x2 RELIGIFY Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 3 59kg 108
5 1351207687 JUNGLE EDGE Mick Bell Kevin Forrester 5 59kg 106
6 6832198383 PETROLOGY David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Cory Parish 2 59kg 97
7 x1240x5427 ANTONIO GIUSEPPE (NZ) Chris Waller Craig Williams 10 59kg 103
8 80×3501125 SOUND PROPOSITION (NZ) Kris Lees Corey Brown 4 59kg 106
9 6557x135x0 CALDERON (IRE) Tony McEvoy Luke Currie 7 59kg 105
10 3510×68220 WYNDSPELLE (NZ) Michael Kent Beau Mertens (a) 8 58.5kg 92

2017 Crystal Mile Nominations

The Crystal Mile nominations are usually released on the Monday prior to the race. Punters hang out for the Crystal Mile nominations, because they give a good indication of which horses are targeting which paths towards the end of spring racing.

The 2017 Crystal Mile nominations are published below.

Crystal Mile Winners & Results

Winners and placers in the Crystal Mile since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 The United States 2 Lidari 3 Ulmann 1:39.7
2015 1 Turn Me Loose 2 Bow Creek 3 Lucky Hussler 1:35.0
2014 1 Hooked 2 Bull Point 3 Desert Jeuney 1:34.98
2013 1 Toydini 2 Speediness 3 Sacred Falls 1:36.04
2012 1 Silent Achiever 2 Rangirangdoo 3 Solzhenitsyn 1:35.6
2011 1 Testa My Patience 2 Hawks Bay 3 He’s Remarkable 1:36.7
2010 1 Sound Journey 2 Trader 3 Drumbeats 1:36.7
2009 1 Rangirangdoo 2 Sound Of Nature 3 All American 1:34.9
2008 1 Sea Battle 2 Conquering 3 Orange County 1:36.3
2007 1 Sonic Quest 2 Orange County 3 Tears I Cry 1.35.9
2006 1 Flash Trick 2 New Edge 3 Rockford Bay 1:37.2
2005 1 Niconero 2 Cargo Cult 3 Miss Potential 1:39.4
2004 1 Lad Of The Manor 2 Lord Mick 3 Sir Dex 1:37.0
2003 1 Rosina Lad 2 Walk On Air 3 Archave 1:38.3
2002 1 Royal Code 2 Weasel Will 3 Excellerator 1:36.5
2001 1 Weasel Will 2 Le Zagaletta 3 Typhoon 1:37.3
2000 1 Weasel Will 2 Le Zagaletta 3 Czar Hero 1:38.7