Colin Stephen Quality

  • Date: Saturday September 26, 2015
  • Racecourse: Rosehill
  • Race Distance: 2400m
  • Conditions: Open Quality
  • Prize Money: $125,000

2016 Colin Stephen Quality News

Doomben Cup An Option For Queen Of The South Stakes Winner Amelie’s Star

Doomben Cup An Option For Queen Of The South Stakes Winner Amelie’s Star

Amelie’s Star could head to the 2017 Doomben Cup in a fortnight after she returned to the races with a strong win in the 2017 Queen Of The South Stakes at Morphettville this afternoon.

Amelie’s Star went into the Queen Of The South Stakes as a clear favourite, but jockey Damian Lane was happy to …

The 2015 Colin Stephen Quality is a Group 3 race hosted at Rosehill Racecourse during the Sydney spring racing carnival. It is an event for horses aged three and over with a prize pool of $125,000. The Colin Stephen Quality sprawls across a trip of 2400m and is a vital stepping stone for some of the big staying events later in the spring.

Bet on Colin Stephen Quality Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

The winner of Colin Stephen Quality gets a ballot exemption for the Group 1 The Metropolitan a couple of weeks later. It is held on the middle day of the Spring Racing Carnival on a card headlined by the Group 3 Golden Pendant.

Due to grandstand problems the event was held at Rosehill Racecourse in 2011, as opposed to its previous home at Randwick. The Colin Stephen Quality is now a permanent Rosehill feature.

The obvious next step for horses here is The Metropolitan given it’s raced over the same distance and usually the same racecourse as well.

That stacks up in the history books as well with the winner of the Metropolitan winning the Colin Stephen Quality as well in 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001 and 2005.

There has been a bit of a drought since that year though and in 2011 Lamasery came close when finishing third after winning the Colin Stephen Quality.

In terms of events prior to this look for good runs coming out of the Group 3 Kingston Town Stakes, Group 3 Newcastle Cup or the Listed Premier’s Cup.

Previous winners of the Colin Stephen Quality include Outlaws in 2003, Mr Clangtastic in 2009 and No Wine No Song in 2010.

2015 Colin Stephen Quality Field

The Colin Stephen Quality field usually attracts a range of quality handicappers. Those horses which seek entry into the Colin Stephen Quality field are usually well into their spring campaigns. The 2015 Colin Stephen Quality field will be released on Wednesday, 23 September. As soon as all acceptances are finalised, the 2015 Colin Stephen Quality field will be published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 x125236x35 KINGDOMS (NZ) Brian Smith Tye Angland 9 58kg 98
2 x078160x00 TREMEC (NZ) John P Thompson Thomas Huet 1 57.5kg 97
3 5×34134436 REIGNING Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 8 56.5kg 89
4 4117x28x14 KING KINSHASA (GB) Gai Waterhouse Sam Clipperton 5 56.5kg 88
5 54x2121x69 BOHEMIAN LILY (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Tim Clark 4 56.5kg 86
6 2611×80373 RIO PERDIDO (FR) Kris Lees Christian Reith 7 56.5kg 85
7 68121×9609 TURNER BAYOU (NZ) Patrick Payne Ms Kathy O’Hara 2 56.5kg 84
8 983211×749 SASENKILE Tony McEvoy Jason Collett 3 56.5kg 83
9 03×42111 AMELIE’S STAR Peter G Moody Joshua Parr 6 56.5kg 75

2015 Colin Stephen Quality Nominations

The Colin Stephen Quality nominations usually feature a high number of genuinely talented stayers. A considerable number of trainers seek to get their horses into the Colin Stephen Quality nominations as part of their continuing spring campaign. The 2015 Colin Stephen Quality nominations will be officially released on Monday 21 September and posted here immediately.

Colin Stephen Quality Winners & Results

Colin Stephen Quality results and winning times since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2015 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2014 1 Deane Martin 2 Iggi Pop 3 Celtic Prince  2:29.5
2013 1 Julienas 2 I’m Imposing 3 Planet Purple  2:30.6
2012 1 Kelinni 2 Julienas 3 Strawberry Boy  2:30.5
2011 1 Lamasery 2 Red Eye Special 3 Two For Tea  2:29.9
2010 1 No Wine No Song 2 Get Up Jude 3 Legsman  2:30.4
2009 1 Mr Clangtastic 2 Bellagio Wynn 3 Indikator  2:29.8
2008 1 Get Up Jude 2 Tangalooma 3 Fiumicino  2:31.1
2007 1 Race not run 2 3  
2006 1 Exinite 2 Scattergun 3 Activation  2:28.8
2005 1 Railings 2 Run Rita Run 3 Cross Bar  2:32.6
2004 1 Don Raphael 2 Dame Mapperley 3 November Dreaming  2:29.8
2003 1 Outlaws 2 Fawaz 3 Dashing Away  2:29.2
2002 1 Red Trinket 2 Prince Hal 3 National Treasure  2:30.5
2001 1 Dress Circle 2 Swiss Echo 3 Rapida  2:14.9
2000 1 Coco Cobanna 2 Dashing Scene 3 Bias Bay  2:31.4