CB Cox Stakes

Deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

The 2016 CB Cox Stakes is a Group 2 contest which is highly anticipated across Western Australia and indeed the rest of the country as well. It’s hosted at the decadent Ascot Racecourse in state’s capital of Perth.

It’s a crucially important race and adds further spectacle to the ever growing reputation of the Perth summer racing carnival. The CB Cox Stakes is a weight for age contest and is run in December making it one of the final black type events of the calendar year. It is a steady 2100m contest with a quarter of a million in prize money up for grabs.

The CB Cox Stakes for a long time was actually a 2400m contest but in 2008 the Perth racing Club made the decision to cut it back by 300m. This was the same period when the Perth Cup was trimmed from two miles back to 2400m, therefore effectively replacing the CB Cox Stakes.

What the move has now done though is make the CB Cox Stakes an outstanding lead up event going into the Perth Cup a fortnight later.

The CB Cox Stakes is the very first summer race which stretches beyond 2000m at weight for age level. As mentioned it is a fantastic guide for the Perth Cup and given the recent distance changes it’s likely that it will only strengthen as an accurate precursor.

Lords Ransom has already shown that to be the case with his double victory in 2009.

Previous to him  the double was completed by the likes of Cats Fun in 2007, Palatious in 1993, Mirror Magic in 1991 and Saratov in 1988.

While the CB Cox Stakes is a Group 2 race there’s no shortage of Group 1 performing horses which are present in the field.

Its scheduling in the heart of the carnival means there’s usually a fair portion of horses which go into it from the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic.

One of the most famous results in the CB Cox Stakes came in 2006 when Perth’s favourite son Scenic Shot dead heated with Daka’s Gem in one of the greatest finishes in the race’s history.

Other notable winners include Old Cobber who won in 1997 and 1999 and Jack Daniels which won in 1998 ahead of the Melbourne Cup placed Rogan Josh.

2016 CB Cox Stakes Field

The CB Cox Stakes field attracts some very talented horses each year. The majority of the CB Cox Stakes field come from local stables near Ascot or elsewhere in Perth, while some make the journey from interstate. Because of it’s considerable prize money and the fact that things are ramping up in Perth around then, the quality of the CB Cox Stakes field is usually quite high.

The 2016 CB Cox Stakes field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 x661x43630 IHTSAHYMN Fred Kersley Steven Parnham 5 59kg
2 322404×301 RESPONDENT Fred Kersley Chris Parnham 8 59kg
3 6x8172x806 DUBAI ESCAPADE Justin Warwick Ben Kennedy 1 59kg
4 0x79600220 BASS STRAIT (NZ) Neville Parnham Joseph Azzopardi 6 59kg
5 611x23x607 ZARANTZ Simon A Miller Brad Parnham 4 59kg
6 272164×833 DARK MUSKET Graeme Ballantyne Jarrad Noske 9 59kg
7 23116×1357 TRADESMAN Robert & Todd Harvey Troy Turner 13 59kg
8 9951113103 FATHOMS OF GOLD Robyne Martin Matthieu Autier 11 59kg
9 83×2497229 BEDAMIJO Tara Itzstein Shaun O’Donnell 14 57kg
10 1422×76805 NEVERLAND Grant & Alana Williams Peter Hall 2 57kg
11 9x751111x2 I’M FEELING LUCKY Grant & Alana Williams Glenn Smith 7 57kg
12 213114×808 TICK TICK BLOOM G Durrant & J Miller Patrick Carbery 3 57kg
13 41213×7786 SHINTA MANI Sharon Miller Jason Whiting 10 57kg
14 11x30x3133 PERFECT REFLECTION Grant & Alana Williams William Pike 12 56kg

2016 CB Cox Stakes Nominations

The CB Cox Stakes nominations are usually released on the Monday or Tuesday prior to the race. The CB Cox Stakes nominations attract a pretty decent type of horse, usually a thoroughly experienced stayer who has had plenty of weight for age experience.

The 2016 CB Cox Stakes nominations will be provided here.

CB Cox Stakes Results

CB Cox Stakes winners, place getters and winning times since 2000 are listed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2016 1 Perfect Reflection 2 Fathoms Of Gold 3 Ihtsahymn  2:14.1
2015 1 Delicacy 2 Black Heart Bart 3 Bass Strait  2:14.3
2014 1 Elite Belle 2 Red Blast 3 Bass Strait  2:14.9
2013 1 Ihtsahymn 2 Kincaple 3 Rohan  2:11.17
2012 1 Mr Moet 2 Chester Road 3 Ranger  2.12.13
2011 1 God Has Spoken 2 Kincaple 3 Ranger  2:09.8
2010 1 Colour Correct 2 Admiring 3 Big Ted  2.08.7
2009 1 Lords Ransom 2 Largo Lad 3 Dante’s Banquet  2:08.8
2008 1 Gilded Venom 2 Annenkov 3 The Fuzz  2:08.7
2007 1 Cats Fun 2 Westerly Breeze 3 Guyno  2:30.5
2006 1 Daka’s Gem =1 2 Scenic Shot =1 3 Ramiro  2:32.5
2005 1 Early Express 2 Blevvo 3 Bon Argent  2:29.4
2004 1 Free At Last 2 Laetare 3 Black Tom  2:30.9
2003 1 Celtus 2 Higgins Gold 3 Free At Last  2:32.6
2002 1 Bold Mirage 2 Tumeric 3 Alibi Bay  2:32.3
2001 1 Never Blue 2 Finito 3 Lottila Bay  2:32.3
2000 1 Old Money 2 Lottila Bay 3 Grand Turismo  2:30.8