Ladbrokes Caulfield Stakes

Deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

The 2017 Caulfield Stakes, previously known as the Yalumba Stakes, is a Group 1 race that is held at Caulfield Racecourse in October of each year. Part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, the Ladbrokes Caulfield Stakes is a weight-for-age event that is run over a distance of 2,000 metres and is worth $600,000 in prize money. The Caulfield Stakes takes place on the same program as the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas, Group 1 Thousand Guineas and the Group 1 Toorak Handicap on one of the biggest days of the spring carnival.

2017 Ladbrokes Caulfield Stakes Results

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

The first Caulfield Stakes took place in 1886 when it was won by Isonomy. The race was originally known as the Caulfield Stakes until 1997 when it was changed to Caulfield Stakes. Many Cox Plate contenders go through the Caulfield Stakes due to the similar race conditions and distance. Horses such as Tranquil Stakes (1942), Rising Fast (1954), Kingston Town (1981-82), Might And Power (1998) and Northerly (2001) all managed to achieve the Caulfield Stakes and Cox Plate double. Shaftesbury Avenue holds the record for the fastest Caulfield Stakes winning time since 1975, winning the race in 1 minute and 59.3 seconds in 1991.

Because the Ladbrokes Stakes attracts such an impressive calibre of horses, gauging form is rather important. There are a few races that horses in the Caulfield Stakes field pass through on their way to the main event. The Group 1 Underwood Stakes, Group 2 Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes and the Group 1 Memsie Stakes are some of the preferred lead up events to the Caulfield Stakes.

Three horses have managed to win the Caulfield Stakes three times during their careers. Eurythmic won the Caulfield Stakes from 1920-1922, Lord in 1958-59 and again in 1961, and Winfreux from 1965-1967. Other notable winners of the Caulfield Stakes include Wakeful (1901-02), The Hawk (1924), Heroic (1925), Ajax (1938), Red Craze (1956), Sky High (1661-62), Gunsynd (1972), Kingston Town (1981-82) and Rough Habit (1994).

2017 Ladbrokes Caulfield Stakes Field

The Ladbrokes Stakes field is usually comprised of some top weight-for-agers, with some of the best horses from around the country (and the world) seeking entry. A run in the Caulfield Stakes field is usually a strong indication that a horse has achieved considerable success throughout their career. Keep an eye on the lead up events to get a good idea of the form of the Caulfield Stakes field.

The 2017 Caulfield Stakes field is published below.

2017 Caulfield Stakes Nominations

The Caulfield Stakes nominations regularly feature some of the strongest performing horses on the racing circuit. A quick look at the Caulfield Stakes nominations can give you a great indication of which horses are worth a punt when they step down in grade.

The 2017 Caulfield Stakes nominations will be published here.

Caulfield Stakes Past Winners & Results

Throughout the running of the Caulfield Stakes many champion horses have claimed victory. Below you will find a list of Caulfield Stakes winners since the year 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 Winx 2 Black Heart Bart 3 He Or She 2:03.4
2015 1 Criterion 2 Happy Trails 3 Mongolian Khan 2:02.02
2014 1 Fawkner 2 Criterion 3 Side Glance 2:01.7
2013 1 Atlantic Jewel 2 Foreteller 3 Super Cool 2:04.0
2012 1 Ocean Park 2 Alcopop 3 Sincero 2:04.7
2011 1 Descarado 2 Avienus 3 Lights of Heaven 2:02.5
2010 1 So You Think 2 Alcopop 3 Whobegotyou 2:02.4
2009 1 Whobegotyou 2 Heart Of Dreams 3 Vision And Power 2:01.5
2008 1 Douro Valley 2 Pompeii Ruler 3 Guillotine 2:04.3
2007 1 Maldivian 2 Miss Finland 3 Anamato 2:01.9
2006 1 Casual Pass 2 Pompeii Ruler 3 El Segundo 2:02.6
2005 1 El Segundo 2 Fields Of Omagh 3 Confectioner 2:04.8
2004 1 Mummify 2 Grand Armee 3 Starcraft 2:03.2
2003 1 Lonhro 2 Mummify 3 Defier 2:02.3
2002 1 Lonhro 2 Sunline 3 Ustinov 2:00.6
2001 1 Northerly 2 Shogun Lodge 3 Ethereal 2:02.5
2000 1 Sky Heights 2 Shogun Lodge 3 Tie The Knot 2:03.6