Carbine Club Stakes

  • Date: Saturday October 29th, 2016
  • Racecourse: Flemington
  • Race Distance: 1,600m
  • Conditions: 3YO Set Weight Plus Penalties
  • Prize Money: $200,000

2016 Carbine Club Stakes News

Comin’ Through Working Well Towards Autumn Carnival

Comin’ Through Working Well Towards Autumn Carnival

Trainer Chris Waller has revealed that exciting three-year-old Comin’ Through has taken plenty of benefit from his time away from racing, and will be geared towards major Group 1 targets during the forthcoming Autumn Carnival.

Comin’ Through will be set for a third-up appearance in one of the Randwick Guineas or Australian Guineas this season. …

The 2016 Carbine Club Stakes is a Group 3 race that takes place annually at Flemington racecourse in Melbourne.

Bet on Carbine Club Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

Run over a distance of 1,600 metres, the Carbine Club Stakes is open to three-year-old horses only. The Carbine Club Stakes is run under set-weight plus penalty conditions and is worth more than $200,000 in prize money.

The Carbine Club Stakes was first run in 1983 when it was won by a horse named Wage Freeze. The race was originally run as a Listed Race until it gained Group 3 status in 1998.

The Carbine Club Stakes is held on Victoria Derby Day each year, which is the first day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington.

The Carbine Club Stakes shares its day with eight other Group races, including the Group 1 Victoria Derby, Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes, Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes, Group 1 Myer Classic, Group 2 Wakeful Stakes, Group 2 Salinger Stakes, Group 3 The Lexus Stakes and Group 3 Chatham Stakes.

Horses that run in the Carbine Club Stakes have often come via races such as the Group 2 Roman Consul Stakes and the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas. Those horses that perform well in the race are likely to run in upcoming races such as the Group 1 Emirates Stakes and the Group 2 Sandown Guineas later in the spring carnival.

Notable Carbine Club Stakes winners include Wonder Dancer (1988), Saintly (1995), Delago Brom (2002), Al Maher (2004), Kidnapped (2009) and Galah (2011).

2016 Carbine Club Stakes Field

The Carbine Club Stakes field regularly attracts some very handy three year olds. Running so late in the spring racing carnival, most of the horses lining up in the Carbine Club Stakes field have had plenty of starts in the preceding weeks and are well into their best form. As a result, it tends to be relatively easy to understand the form of the Carbine Club Stakes field.

The 2016 Carbine Club Stakes field is published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 1240×1113 HEY DOC Tony McEvoy Luke Currie 12 58kg 100
2 2x830x6049 NIKITAS Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 5 56kg 75
3 21x221x15 MORTON’S FORK John O’Shea Craig Williams 4 56kg 79
4 11×3307 THROSSELL Ciaron Maher Nicholas Hall 11 56kg 70
5 2×111 BEZEL John O’Shea James McDonald 6 56kg 74
6 8×16422177 HIGH MIST Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 10 56kg 73
7 13×113 ACATOUR Peter & Paul Snowden Blake Shinn 7 56kg 74
8 6333×6968 MOUNT PANORAMA Gary Moore Joao Moreira 9 56kg 67
9 1×3282 VIOLATE Paul Banks Mark Zahra 1 56kg 69
10 12 COMIN’ THROUGH Chris Waller Michael Walker 3 56kg 65
11 65×611 SO YOU TOO Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Zac Purton 2 56kg 67

2016 Carbine Club Stakes Nominations

The Carbine Club Stakes nominations tend to draw horses from a wide range of preparations, although the vast majority will have spent a fair amount of their spring in Melbourne and thus be there already. Looking over the Carbine Club Stakes nominations, it quickly becomes apparent that this is no ordinary Group 3 event. The class and ability of the three year olds that appear in the Carbine Club Stakes nominations is certainly well above that of many other three year old races.

The 2016 Carbine Club Stakes nominations are provided below.

Carbine Club Stakes Results

Carbine Club Stakes results, winners and winning times since 2000 are displayed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2015 1 Hi World 2 Farolitos 3 Inauguration  1:38.01
2014 1 Kermadec 2 Stratum Star 3 Manhattan Avenue  1:37.3
2013 1 Paximadia 2 Hucklebuck 3 Equator  1:38.0
2012 1 Lunar Rise 2 Tatra 3 Proverb  1:35.3
2011 1 Galah 2 Highly Recommended 3 Saint Etienne  1:37.8
2010 1 Mr Chard 2 Goldstone 3 Condelago  1:36.0
2009 1 Kidnapped 2 Disco Summit 3 Ruse De Guerre  1:37.8
2008 1 Dr Doutes 2 Lucky Thunder 3 Millbank  1:36.2
2007 1 Zacroona 2 Schilling 3 Montonari  1:36.4
2006 1 Permaiscuous 2 Patriotism 3 Antidotes  1:37.1
2005 1 Testafiable 2 Fusiachi San 3 San Vesuvio  1:36.0
2004 1 Al Maher 2 Squad 3 Pin Up Boy  1:37.9
2003 1 Sir Dex 2 Tchaikovsky 3 Sandy River  1:38.9
2002 1 Delago Brom 2 Lord Volksraad 3 Charlie Bub  1:35.1
2001 1 All Courage 2 Gordo 3 Road To Dance  1:35.1
2000 1 Inspire 2 Sporting Scribe 3 Neptunes Journey  1:37.9