Caloundra City Cup

  • Date: Saturday, June 27th
  • Racecourse: Sunshine Coast Racecourse
  • Race Distance: 2400m
  • Conditions: Open Quality
  • Prize Money: $175,000

2016 Caloundra City Cup News

Weir wins 5th Warrnamboool Cup with High Church

Weir wins 5th Warrnamboool Cup with High Church

Tough stayer High Church provided Victoria’s leading trainer Darren Weir with his fifth win in the Listed $200,000 Sungold Milk Warrnambool Cup (2350m) at Warrnambool today.

Warrnambool Cup winner High Church, above winning at Caulfield before joining the Darren Weir stable. Photo by Ultimate Racing Photos.

Winning rider Damian Lane settled High Church near the …

The Caloundra City Cup is a listed race held at Sunshine Coast Racecourse each year towards the end of June or in early July. A considerable crowd usually attends the races, drawing on patrons from around the Sunshine Coast, Brisbane, Ipswich, Toowoomba, the Gold Coast and elsewhere.

Bet on Caloundra City Cup Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

Raced across 2400m, the Caloundra Cup pays a respectable $175,000 prize money. The main racing event on the day, the Caloundra City Cup is on the same card as the Group 3 $125,000 Sunshine Coast Guineas (1600m) and the listed $175,000 Glasshouse Handicap (1400m).

The Caloundra City Cup’s slot on the calendar is quite advantageous for punters. Run at the tail-end of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival, after the Tattersall’s Tiara Day and Ipswich Cup, there is plenty of form to analyse leading up to the race. Most horses running in the Caloundra Cup will have had at least one, if not several starts at other meets in the week preceding, giving a lot of form to go off.

One of the biggest days in Sunshine Coast racing, thousands flock to the racecourse for Caloundra Cup weekend, which culminates with the Sky Racing Raceday on Sunday.

2015 Caloundra Cup Field

As soon as it is finalised, the 2015 Caloundra Cup field will be published here.

Caloundra Cup Results

The Caloundra Cup is a great race for punters, as there is plenty of form leading up to it. Notable Caloundra Cup winners include Shenzhou Steeds (2012), Ironstein (2010) and Empyreal (2005, 2006).

Caloundra Cup winners since 2000 are below.

Year Results Winning Time
2015 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2014 1 Brayroan 2 Brave Ali 3 Zennista  2:28.77
2013 1 Zennista 2 Voila Ici 3 Rothera  2:38.76
2012 1 Shenzhou Steeds 2 Anudjawun 3 Winmara  2:38.97
2011 1 Spechenka 2 Gold In Dubai 3 Tinseltown  2:33.70
2010 1 Ironstein 2 Tinseltown 3 Teary Eyed  2:30.67
2009 1 Reggie 2 Phaze Action 3 Deraismes  2:48.00
2008 1 Fast Future 2 Scattergun 3 Synonym  2:31.86
2007 1 King Latarmiss 2 Scattergun 3 Cold Start  2:36.75
2006 1 Empyreal 2 Sphenophyta 3 Cold Start  2:34.59
2005 1 Empyreal 2 Famous Dane 3 Classic Karla  2:40.90
2004 1 Portland Singa 2 Zabeat 3 Pacific Dancer  2:31.10
2003 1 Raw Instinct 2 Belus 3 Victory Smile  2:31.20
2002 1 Victory Smile 2 Laurinel Argie 3 Lodger  2:29.34
2001 1 Henderson Bay 2 Viva La Vie 3 Mr. Smugg  2:29.51
2000 1 Yammer 2 I Reign Supreme 3 Classify  2:33.79