Bill Ritchie Handicap

  • Date: Saturday September 17, 2016
  • Racecourse: Randwick
  • Race Distance: 1400m
  • Conditions: 3YO&UP Handicap
  • Prize Money: $125,000

2016 Bill Ritchie Handicap News

Epsom Handicap Next For Bill Ritchie Handicap Winner Sons Of John

Epsom Handicap Next For Bill Ritchie Handicap Winner Sons Of John

Sons Of John will head to the 2016 Epsom Handicap after he recorded a fast-finishing victory in the Bill Ritchie Handicap at Royal Randwick this afternoon.

Sons Of John scored a narrow victory in the Bill Ritchie Handicap at Royal Randwick on Saturday. Photo by: Steve Hart

There were plenty of winning chances in the …

The 2016 Bill Ritchie Handicap is a Group 3 race held annually in September during the Sydney spring racing carnival. It is hosted at Randwick Racecourse and caters for horses aged three years and over. The Bill Ritchie Handicap stretches for 1400m around the course and $125,000 in prize money is on offer.

Bet on Bill Ritchie Handicap Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

The Bill Ritchie Handicap sits on the same card as the feature event Group 1 George Main Stakes (1600m). Other black-type races held on the day include three Group 2 events, the Hill Stakes (2000m), The Shorts (1100m), and the Tea Rose Stakes (1400m). The listed Heritage Stakes (1100) is also run on the day.

It also carries a ballot exemption for the winner to get into the Group 1 Epsom Handicap (1600m). As a result, a lot of punters tend to watch this race, not only for the winner’s form, but also the top placing horses.

With that in mind the majority of horses contesting the 1400m of the Bill Ritchie Handicap will be looking to step up to the mile of the Epsom Handicap later on.

That said there isn’t a good record for the winner of this race in the Group 1 on the final day of the carnival.

The best recent result belongs to Captain Sonador who won the Epsom Handicap after placing third in the Ritchie Handicap.

If you’re looking for a form line leading into the Bill Ritchie Handicap try races such as the Group 3 Cameron Handicap (1500m) at Newcastle, the Group 2 Theo Marks Stakes (1400m) at Rosehill or the Group 3 Tramway Handicap (1400m) at Randwick.

Zabarra won back to back Bill Ritchie Handicaps in 2002 and 2003 while since then it’s been won by McClintok in 2009, Drumbeats in 2010 and Thankgodyou’rehere in 2011.

2016 Bill Ritchie Handicap Field

The Bill Ritchie Handicap field will be released on Wednesday September 14th. The 2016 Bill Ritchie Handicap field will be provided below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 111x4523x5 HAPPY CLAPPER Patrick Webster Brenton Avdulla 6 59kg 108
2 3151x1261x MIGHTY LUCKY Fred Cowell Chris O’Brien 10 58.5kg 107
3 947x400x27 SADLER’S LAKE Chris Waller James McDonald 12 55.5kg 101
4 x2380x05x6 SONS OF JOHN Jason Attard Blake Shinn 4 55kg 100
5 212x1442x2 FEDERAL John O’Shea Craig Williams 1 54.5kg 99
6 33x574126x LADY LE FAY (NZ) Chris Waller Glyn Schofield 11 54kg 97
7 4517121×17 TESTASHADOW Gary Portelli Ms Deanne Panya (a) 3 54kg 92
8 612x1113x3 TSARITSA Chris Waller Tommy Berry 2 54kg 92
9 16x0x02466 ZIN ZAN EDDIE Matthew Smith Kerrin McEvoy 8 54kg 91
10 x887203x52 TORGERSEN (NZ) Chris Waller Christian Reith 7 54kg 84
11 22x11414x3 HANDFAST John O’Shea Tim Clark 9 54kg 82
12 116x100x41 WAR JET Joe Cleary Ms Kathy O’Hara 5 54kg 81

2016 Bill Ritchie Handicap Nominations

The 2016 Bill Ritchie Handicap nominations will be released on Monday, September 12th. The 2016 Bill Ritchie Handicap nominations will be published below.

Bill Ritchie Handicap Results

Bill Ritchie Handicap results and winning times since 2000 are listed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2016 1 Sons Of John 2 Torgersen 3 Federal  1:22.7
2015 1 Sadler’s Lake 2 Rudy 3 Heart Testa  1:24.7
2014 1 Manawanui 2 Rock Sturdy 3 Tougher Than Ever  1:21.8
2013 1 Boban 2 Beltone 3 Choice Bro  1:21.8
2012 1 Steps In Time 2 Said Com 3 Wild And Proud  1:23.2
2011 1 Thankgodyou’rehere 2 Startsmeup 3 Miss Keepsake  1:22.2
2010 1 Drumbeats 2 Kenny’s World 3 Captain Sonador  1:22.8
2009 1 McClintock 2 Walking Or Dancing 3 Faulconbridge  1:23.5
2008 1 Judged 2 Rockwood 3 Kiloton  1:23.1
2007 1 Race Not Run 2 3  
2006 1 Coalesce 2 New Edge 3 Flaming  1:21.6
2005 1 Flaming 2 Devil 3 Messiaen  1:21.3
2004 1 Osca Warrior 2 Utzon 3 In a Bound  1:21.7
2003 1 Zabarra 2 Britt’s Best 3 Forum Floozie  1:22.6
2002 1 Zabarra 2 This Manshood 3 Swiss Echo  1:23.8
2001 1 Fouardee 2 Defier 3 Adamantly  1:21.7
2000 1 Landsighting 2 Tie The Knot 3 Valuate  1:21.7