Ballarat Cup

  • Date: November 19th
  • Racecourse: Ballarat
  • Race Distance: 2200m
  • Conditions: Handicap
  • Prize Money: $300,000

2016 Ballarat Cup News

Pakenham Cup winner Pilote D’Essai to be set for the Australian Cup

Pakenham Cup winner Pilote D’Essai to be set for the Australian Cup

Pakenham Cup winner Pilote D’Essai will be set for the Group 1 $1.5m Australian Cup (2000m) at Flemington during the 2017 Melbourne Autumn Carnival.

Trainer David Hayes, above, will set Pakenham Cup winner Pilote D’Essai for the Australian Cup at Flemington. Photo by Race Horse Photos Australia.

The Lindsay Park trained Pilote D’Essai was dominant …

The 2016 Ballarat Cup is a listed staying event held at Dowling Forest Racecourse in Ballarat.

Bet on Ballarat Cup Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

Raced under handicap conditions, the Ballarat Cup is open to horses of all ages and genders. It is usually held towards the very end of the Spring Racing Carnival in late November.

With $300,000 prize money on offer, the Ballarat Cup is quite a lucrative country cup, particularly considering its listed status.

In the past, the Ballarat Cup was held as a mid week event on a Wednesday. In 2011, it was moved to a Sunday to take advantage of weekend crowds and punters. In 2014, the Ballarat Cup began running on a Saturday as the only black type racing in NSW and Victoria. In Perth on the same day, Ascot hosts the Group 1 Railway Stakes (1600m) and Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes (1200m).

Those gallopers which contest the Ballarat Cup rarely do so first up. Other country cups such as the Bendigo Cup or the Kyneton Cup are common lead up races. Staying events during the feature days of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival are also sometimes contested prior to a run in the Ballarat Cup.

The Ballarat Cup is the last feature day during the spring racing carnival in Victoria. This has the effect of increasing crowds, as a lot of people turn out for one last hit of racing.

Notable Ballarat Cup winners include Great Warrior (1988), Battocchi (1997), Royal Caliph (1998, 2000), Command N Conquer (2005) and The Offer (2013).

2016 Ballarat Cup Field

The Ballarat Cup field usually features a fairly diverse range of horses from different stables. It’s an interesting race, and you’ll often get a mixture of local or country horses lining up against metro runners in the Ballarat Cup field. Because of this, it tends to be a bit of a hit with the punters. The fact that it’s held right at the end of the spring racing carnival also means that most of the runners in the Ballarat Cup field have plenty of form to look to.

The 2016 Ballarat Cup field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 311118×301 TURNITAROUND Matthew Williams Blake Shinn 13 60kg 104
2 x1xD2x0293 LIDARI (FR) Darren Weir John Allen 15 59kg 102
3 3540×27408 RISING ROMANCE (NZ) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Mark Zahra 1 58.5kg 105
4 757×560031 TAIYOO Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 12 58.5kg 101
5 4402846×22 PUCCINI (NZ) Wayne Walters Craig Robertson 7 58kg 100
6 1x4740x008 AUVRAY (FR) Darren Weir 4 56.5kg 97
7 106x0x0830 DESERT JEUNEY Nigel Blackiston 21 56kg 96
8 20×9845900 MAGNAPAL Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Luke Currie 5 56kg 96
9 1519125×67 LORD VAN PERCY (GB) Darren Weir 18 55kg 94
10 x0730x5950 OBSERVATIONAL (GB) John Sadler Luke Nolen 8 55kg 94
11 74126×5266 LADY LE FAY (NZ) Chris Waller Craig Newitt 22 54kg 96
12 1282×30930 MANAGERESS Cindy Alderson Ms Michelle Payne 2 54kg 91
13 893×486407 GO DREAMING Grant Kluske Darren Gauci 6 54kg 89
14 3x67x66142 NOZOMI Lee & Anthony Freedman Stephen Baster 10 54kg 89
15 x153413x43 SCHERZOSO Tony McEvoy Ben Allen (a) 16 54kg 89
16 14x1x22529 PILOTE D’ESSAI (GB) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Regan Bayliss (a) 19 54kg 87
17 000396×990 SONNTAG Henry Dwyer Michael Dee (a) 17 54kg 85
18 21213×9226 COOL CHAP Lee & Anthony Freedman Daniel Stackhouse 3 54kg 83
19e 811×099411 GOLDEN OLDIES Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Ms Linda Meech 9 54kg 80
20e 211x2x4442 SOMETHING TO SHARE Dane Smith 14 54kg 79
21e 16415×0 CHARLEVOIX Michael Kent 20 54kg 74
22e x912598415 WHITE DOLLAR SIGN John Thom Ms Holly McKechnie 11 54kg 72

2016 Ballarat Cup Nominations

The Ballarat Cup nominations are usually comprised of a broad spectrum of talent. Local runners who haven’t had a lot of black-type starts will enter the Ballarat Cup nominations in hopes of securing a prestigious victory and some solid prize money. Metro runners from major stables in Melbourne and sometimes Sydney will also enter the Ballarat Cup nominations as part of a wider spring campaign that is likely near its end.

The 2016 Ballarat Cup nominations will be provided here.

Ballarat Cup Results

Ballarat Cup winners, place getters and winning times since 2000 are listed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 Pilote D’Essai 2 Scherzoso 3 Manageress 2:14.1
2015 1 Junoob 2 Wales 3 Sonntag 2:18.
2014 1 Mujadale 2 At First Sight 3 Fat Al 2:17.8
2013 1 The Offer 2 Pelicano 3 Hurdy Gurdy Man 2:25.1
2012 1 King Diamond 2 Pelicano 3 Exceptionally 2:18.4
2011 1 Domesky 2 Rothera 3 Sean Baile Mor 2:19.2
2010 1 My Bentley 2 Kidnapped 3 Allanthus 2:17.0
2009 1 Itstheone 2 Gallions Reach 3 Davcon 2:14.4
2008 1 Daka’s Gem 2 Sentire 3 Banana Man 2:21.8
2007 1 Sentire 2 Bowl Along 3 Red Riviera 2:23.9
2006 1 Rubijon 2 Upstaged 3 Lancettier 2:17.3
2005 1 Command N Conquer 2 Maneroo Lue 3 Steelworker 2:17.4
2004 1 Just The Part 2 Irish Crusader 3 Demerger 2:15.4
2003 1 Western Waters 2 Delvecchio 3 Dance On Wood 2:16.2
2002 1 Varsilayos 2 As You Would 3 Sale Of Century 2:15.0
2001 1 Aquiver 2 Varsilayos 3 Adolescence 2:14.0
2000 1 Royal Caliph 2 Luther 3 Laebeel 2:18.5