Australia Stakes

  • Date: Saturday 23rd January, 2016
  • Racecourse: Moonee Valley
  • Race Distance: 1200m
  • Conditions: Open, Weight For Age
  • Prize Money: $200,000

2016 Australia Stakes News

Chetwood Headlines Godolphin’s Australia Stakes Defence

Chetwood Headlines Godolphin’s Australia Stakes Defence

Exciting sprinter Chetwood will headline Godolphin’s two-pronged attack in Friday’s featured Group 2 Australia Stakes (1200m) at Moonee Valley Racecourse.

Chetwood is primed for a strong first-up showing in Friday’s Australia Stakes at Moonee Valley. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos

Trainer John O’Shea has elected to saddle both Chetwood and exciting three-year-old Peacock in the Australia …

The 2016 Australia Stakes is a Group 2 contest run at the end of January every year at Moonee Valley Racecourse in Melbourne. 

Bet on Australia Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

The Australia Stakes is run under weight for age conditions with a handy prize pool of $200,000 up for grabs.

The Australia Stakes is a sprint event with a distance of just 1200m. The action is always frantic with the tight turning and short Moonee Valley circuit always providing some of the closest fought racing.

The Australia Stakes has its name due to the event falling on the same week as Australia Day. The Moonee Valley Race Club has tried to cash in on the excitement generated around this period and the Friday night meeting has a real party type feel.

This race became the Australia Stakes in 2010, previous to that it was called the Carlyon Stakes. It has also been known as the Stanley Wootton Stakes in the past.

The Australia Stakes is one of the first black type races of the year anywhere in the country and suits horses which are either pushing on through the summer or getting into it early before the Autumn.

It can be used as an early tune up for races like the Group 1 Lightning Stakes at Flemington a couple of weeks later or event the Group 1 William Reid Stakes at Moonee Valley in two months time.

Away from the top level something like the Group 3 Rubiton Stakes could also be suited on CF Orr Stakes Day.

Despite being held so early in the year the Australia Stakes fields always tend to be of quality and there are some real champions on the winners list.

Schillaci won this race in 1993 while Clang was the champion in 1997.

Royal Code got the job done in 2002 and El Segundo got up in 2007.

More recently the world champion superstar Black Caviar triumphed in 2009 and the impressive Whitefriars upstaged Typhoon Tracy to win in 2011.

2016 Australia Stakes Field

The Australia Stakes field regularly features some top sprinters from around Victoria. Some talented interstate types also often make the journey to enter the Australia Stakes field. As a result, the Australia Stakes field usually presents a fairly exciting competition.

The 2016 Australia Stakes field is provided here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Penalty
1 47x60x123x REBEL DANE Gary Portelli Brenton Avdulla 6 58.5kg 110
2 1310x1610x MOURINHO Peter Gelagotis Vlad Duric 2 58.5kg 112
3 x46x111x0x HUCKLEBUCK Phillip Stokes Dom Tourneur 11 58.5kg 108
4 12111x2x7x TRUST IN A GUST Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 13 58.5kg 110
5 490x9835x0 IT IS WRITTEN Robbie Griffiths Matthew Allen 4 58.5kg 98
6 1×21157543 CHURCHILL DANCER David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Nicholas Hall 12 58.5kg 100
7 55×3404972 RICHIE’S VIBE Paul Beshara Damien Oliver 3 58.5kg 98
8 113×815111 DURENDAL Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Damian Lane 5 58.5kg 98
9 303766×618 WRITTEN UP George Osborne Craig Newitt 10 58.5kg 85
10 7x951x1217 KIEVANN Stephen Brown Steven Arnold 1 58.5kg 84
11 129134×131 SIRBIBLE Russell Bell Jye McNeil (a) 7 58.5kg 85
12 x22x41435x RAGEESE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 9 55kg 80
13 1x3x38221x HOLLER John O’Shea Craig Williams 8 55kg 80

2015 Australia Stakes Nominations

The Australia Stakes nominations are released on the Monday prior to the race. Amongst the Australia Stakes nominations you can usually find some genuine Group 1 talents who have raced well in greater competition.

The 2016 Australia Stakes nominations are published below.

Australia Stakes Results

Australia Stakes winners, winning times and place getters since 2000 are provided below.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2016 1 Holler 2 Churchill Dancer 3 Rebel Dane  1:10.96
2015 1 Mourinho 2 It is Written 3 Dissident  1:09.9
2014 1 Richie’s Vibe 2 Moment Of Change 3 It Is Written  1:10.96
2013 1 Sea Lord 2 Pinwheel 3 Outlandish Lad  1.10.5
2012 1 Black Caviar 2 Zedi Knight 3 Doubtful Jack  1:09.4
2011 1 Whitefriars 2 Undeniably 3 Typhoon Tracy  1.09.6
2010 1 Black Caviar 2 Here De Angels 3 La Rocket  1:10.1
2009 1 Lucky Secret 2 Light Fantastic 3 Von Costa De Hero  1:11.2
2008 1 Let Go Thommo 2 Maldivian 3 Casino Prince  1:10.8
2007 1 El Segundo 2 Cocinero 3 Super Elegant  1:11.2
2006 1 California Dane 2 Virage De Fortune 3 Casual Pass  1:09.8
2005 1 Super Elegant 2 Strikeline 3 Ruben  1:10.5
2004 1 Vocabulary 2 Super Elegant 3 Confederate Kid  1:11.5
2003 1 Yell 2 Libidinious 3 Pernod  1:10.3
2002 1 Royal Code 2 Intelligent Star 3 Ustinov  1:11.0
2001 1 Piavonic 2 Ateates 3 Le Zagaletta  1:11.8
2000 1 Slavonic 2 Sports 3 Le Zagaletta  1:12.1