2014 Cox Plate Race Time

By: Mark Mazzaglia
October 25th, 2014

The Group 1 $3m Sportingbet Cox Plate (2040m) at Moonee Valley today might not be ‘The Race That Stops The Nation’, but there will still be millions of eyes watching at race time to see who is the 2014 Weight-For-Age Champion.

Fawkner is the favourite for the Cox Plate at Moonee Valley. Photo by Race Horse Photos Australia.

Fawkner is the favourite for the Cox Plate at Moonee Valley. Photo by Race Horse Photos Australia.

The 2014 Cox Plate has not only attracted the best weight-for-age gallopers from Australia and New Zealand, it has also been well established as a major international event with three European runners, Adelaide, Side Glance and Guest Of Honour, in the year’s fourteen horse field.

Below is the time that you will be able to watch the Cox Plate no matter where you are across the nation.

Cox Plate start time:

Melbourne time: 5.40pm.

Sydney time: 5.40pm.

Canberra time: 5.40pm.

Brisbane time: 4.40pm.

Adelaide time: 5.10 pm.

Perth Time: 2.40pm.

Darwin time: 4.10pm.

The Robert Hickmott trained Fawkner has been installed the $4.80 favourite for the Cox Plate with Ladbrokes.com.au because of some excellent Spring Carnival lead up form.

Fawkner has once again shown his liking for this time of the year and after winning the Group 1 $2.5m BMW Caulfield Cup (2400m) at Caulfield during last year’s Spring Carnival has returned to the racetrack in excellent form for the 2014 Spring Carnival.

Fawkner, raced by prominent racehorse owner and businessman Lloyd Williams, ran a great first up second to the Peter Moody trained Dissident in the Group 1 $400,000 Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) at Flemington on September 13 and followed that up with a win in the Group 1 $400,000 Cathay Pacific Caulfield Stakes (2000m) at Caulfield beating Cox Plate rival Criterion.

The three International runners are spread right across the bookie’s board with the Aidan O’Brien trained Adelaide the best fancied of the trio at $7.50.

Australian racegoers have already seen the ability of the Andrew Balding trained Side Glance who took out the Group 1 $1m Longines Mackinnon Stakes (2000m) at Flemington during last year’s Spring Carnnival.

Side Glance is marked as a $26 chance while Guest Of Honour, from the Marco Botti Newmarket stables, is the outsider of the field at $71.

Other Cox Plate betting has Criterion at $6, Sacred Falls at $7.50, Happy Trails and Royal Descent at $11 and The Cleaner at $15.

Add Your Comment

Add Your Comment

Add your comment and join the discussion.