2012 Global Sprint Challenge – a little easier

By: Chris Bassani
November 30th, 2011

The 2012 Global Sprint Challenge will extend to a series of 10 races with the addition of Dubai Golden Shaheen (1200m) at Meydan in Dubai in March.

The inclusion extends the series to a sixth country with the Australia conducting the first and last leg.

The 2012 Group 1 Lightning Stakes (1000m) at Flemington on February 18 and 2012 Patinack Classic (1200m) at Flemington on November 10 are the two participating races.

The series, introduced in 2005, will now have Australia, Japan, Hong Kong, United Kingdom, Singapore and United Arab Emirates taking part.

A $US1 million bonus is offered to any horse who wins in three countries which can include its home base.

The bonus is split 75% to the owners and 25% to the trainer.

The bonus being split equally if more than one horse is successful.

To date no horse has been able to win the bonus which in previous  was offered under tougher conditions.

A horse had to win three races outside it’s own country.

2012 Global Sprint Challenge Schedule.

AUSTRALIA

COOLMORE LIGHTNING STAKES (GROUP 1)

Saturday, 18 February, Flemington

JAPAN

TAKAMATSUNOMIYA KINEN (Group 1)

Sunday, 25 March, Chukyo

 

UNITED ARAB EMIRATES

DUBAI GOLDEN SHAHEEN, SPONSORED BY GULF NEWS (GROUP 1)

Saturday, 31 March, Meydan

 

SINGAPORE

KRISFLYER INTERNATIONAL SPRINT (GROUP 1)

Sunday, 20 May, Kranji

 

UNITED KINGDOM

KING’S STAND STAKES (GROUP 1)

Tuesday, 19 June, Royal Ascot

GOLDEN JUBILEE STAKES (GROUP 1)

Saturday, 23 June, Royal Ascot

DARLEY JULY CUP (GROUP 1)

Saturday, 14 July, Newmarket

JAPAN

SPRINTERS STAKES (GROUP 1)

Sunday, 30 September, Nakayama

AUSTRALIA

PATINACK FARM CLASSIC (GROUP 1)

Saturday, 10 November, Flemington

HONG KONG

HONG KONG SPRINT (GROUP 1)

Sunday, 9 December, Sha Tin

Add Your Comment

Add Your Comment

Add your comment and join the discussion.