Kevin Dixon new Chairman of Queensland Racing Limited

Deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Former Brisbane Racing Club Chairman Kevin Dixon has been appointed Chairman of Racing Queensland Limited following the resignation of former chief Bob Bentley.

Bentley resigned from his role at Racing Queensland Limited following the landslide win by the LNP at the recent Queensland State Election after a long and controversial term at the helm.

Dixon was the leading force behind the amalgamation of Brisbane’s two Metropolitan race clubs, The Queensland Turf Club and the Brisbane Turf Club and it was suggested for a long time that he would be the right man to take over RQL once Bentley decide to move on.

The prominent horse racing administrator and race horse owner is keen to start the process of restructuring RQL back to a workable and fair organisation under the new Government.

“The Government has committed to devolve the current All Codes Racing Board into three separate control boards, one for each code, and oversee the establishment of an All Codes Industry Board to advise on matters of strategic importance impacting on the entire racing sector such as television rights,” Dixon said.

Other new appointees to the board are Warwick Stansfield, Greg Hallam and John Falvey, replacing Tony Hanmer and Bill Ludwig who followed Bentley’s lead with their resignations.

These new members will join incumbents Wayne Milner and Brad Ryan, making up the six-man board of directors.

Dixon sees a bright future for the Queensland Racing Industry and sees himself as an integral part of its reshaping.

“I’ve always said I’d assist the LNP in whatever way I could,” Dixon said.

“I’m excited to be involved to implement the LNP policy to revitalise racing right throughout the State.”

“And I am excited to be offered a role helping to reshape our great industry under the plans being implemented by the LNP Government.”

Stansfield has had a successful association with Harness racing and was chairman of the Albion Park Harness Racing Club since 2008 and during that time successfully staged the 2009 Inter Dominion Series.

Hallam is the chief executive of the Queensland Local Government Association who has first hand experience with the racing industry through his ownership of many racehorses including a share in 2006 Stradbroke Handicap winner La Montagna.

And Falvey comes to the board with a wealth of knowledge and experience in the Greyhound industry having trained, bred and raced greyhounds as well as standardbred horses.

He is also the former president of the United Queensland Greyhound Association as well as having twenty-five years of corporate experience which included senior executive positions for Stockland, Westfield, QIC and AMP.

Bentley has also been replaced as Chairman of the Australian Racing Board by Racing Victoria Chairman Michael Duffy.

Duffy, who is the chairman of the ARB’s integrity and welfare sub-committee has been a director on the board since 2007.

About The Author

Mark Mazzaglia

Mark is a passionate journalist with a life-time involvement in the racing industry. He spent many years as an analyst and form expert at the Courier Mail and also has hands-on experience working with some of Queensland’s top trainers.


  1. Daren Sedman

    Everything is very open and very clear explanation of issues. was truly information. Your website is very useful. Thanks for sharing.

  2. m skull mp3

    Nice post. I discover something more challenging on diverse blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and employ a little from their site. I’d choose to use some together with the content in this little blog regardless of whether you do not mind. Natually I’ll provide a link on the internet weblog. Appreciate your sharing.

  3. ed sheeran tickets

    I’m impressed, I must say. Genuinely rarely will i encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and without a doubt, you’ve got hit the nail about the head. Your thought is outstanding; the problem is something too little folks are speaking intelligently about. I am happy that we found this inside my search for some thing regarding this.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *