2017 TJ Smith Stakes Field & Barrier Draw

Fourteen sprinters have been confirmed in the TJ Smith Stakes final field and will chase the biggest sprint crown of the 2017 Autumn Carnival at Royal Randwick on Saturday.

Chautauqua has been confirmed in the 2017 TJ Smith Stakes field. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos

Chautauqua has been confirmed in the 2017 TJ Smith Stakes field. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos

Team Hawkes did not reveal which race on Day 1 of The Championships Chautauqua would contest, but have confirmed the multiple Group 1 winner in the 2017 TJ Smith Stakes field.

Winner of each of the two most recent edition of the TJ Smith Stakes, Chautauqua has saluted at the highest level of racing on a total of five occasions; including the Group 1 Chairman’s Sprint Prize (1200m) in Hong Kong most recently last May.

While failing to come up in spring, the Encosta De Lago gelding resumed this time for third in the Group 2 Rubiton Stakes (1100m) and has since finished second in the Group 1 Canterbury Stakes (1300m) and third in the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes (1500m).

Chautauqua will jumping from barrier 11 on Saturday and a number of other veterans have drawn into the 2017 TJ Smith Stakes field in wide barriers, including Terravista (barrier 12) and Rebel Dane (14).

Breaking through for his first Group 1 win in the 2014 edition of the Darley Classic (1200m), Terravista continued to produce strong and consistent results throughout the next two years, but was unable to return to winning form at the peak of racing.

Rated only an outside chance in the Group 1 Black Caviar Lightning Stakes (1000m) first-up this time, Terravista produced a smart turn of foot in the dying stages of the race to post an impressive win.

While failing to produce much when eleventh in the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) last time out on March 11th, the Captain Rio gelding is sure to have taken benefit from the run ahead of the TJ Smith Stakes.

Rebel Dane won the 2013 edition of the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m) and is another horse that was unable to return to winning form at the highest level until he beat many of his TJ Smith Stakes rivals in the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m) last spring.

The California Dane entire resumed for ninth in the Group 1 William Reid Stakes (1100m) last Friday and will also carry benefit into the TJ Smith Stakes.

Malaguerra, Spieth and Russian Revolution have all been confirmed to take their places in the 2017 TJ Smith Stakes.

Posting his first Group 1 win in the BTC Cup (1200m) while under the care of Lee & Anthony Freedman during the 2016 Brisbane Winter Carnival, Malaguerra was transferred to the care of Peter Gelagotis in spring and capped his year with a smart win in the Darley Classic.

Having resumed this year for a classy win in the Group 2 Australia Stakes (1200m), the Magnus gelding could only manage a mid-pack finish in the Group 1 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes (1400m) last time out and has subsequently been freshened-up for the TJ Smith Stakes.

Spieth is unlucky not to have posted a Group 1 win and will undoubtedly require luck to reverse the trend on Saturday after drawing into the TJ Smith Stakes field in barrier 13.

Finishing second to Malaguerra by the bob of a head in the Darley Classic, the Thorn Park entire returned for a similarly-close second to Terravista in the Black Caviar Lightning Stakes.

Failing to match the late pace when ninth in the Newmarket Handicap last time out, Spieth will be partnered by Hugh Bowman in the TJ Smith Stakes.

Russian Revolution was a strong and consistent performer for Peter & Paul Snowden in spring and ended his year third in the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes (1200m).

The Sydney trainers elected to saddle Russian Revolution first-up in the Group 1 The Galaxy (1100m) a fortnight ago and were rewarded for the decision when the colt flew home late to claim a maiden win at the highest level.

2017 TJ Smith Field and Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 311x47x323 CHAUTAUQUA Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 11 58.5kg 118
2 619x215x16 MALAGUERRA Peter Gelagotis Ben Melham 7 58.5kg
3 x296x20x10 TERRAVISTA Joseph Pride Corey Brown 12 58.5kg 113
4 4x236710x9 REBEL DANE Gary Portelli Craig Williams 15 58.5kg
5 13x6039x65 JAPONISME Chris Waller Glyn Schofield 5 58.5kg 108
6 156x323x66 FELL SWOOP Matthew Dale Joao Moreira 6 58.5kg 107
7 0111x12x29 SPIETH (NZ) Bryce Heys Hugh Bowman 13 58.5kg
8 12311210×2 VOODOO LAD Darren Weir Damian Lane 3 58.5kg 104
9 x3221123x4 ROCK MAGIC Chris Gangemi Jarrad Noske 8 58.5kg
10 42x256Px1x TARGET IN SIGHT Joseph Pride Brenton Avdulla 2 58.5kg 105
11 1x26330x15 TIVACI Michael Moroney Damien Oliver 9 58.5kg 102
12 31x5470x17 ENGLISH Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Blake Shinn 1 56.5kg 110
13 x101x1122x ASTERN John O’Shea James Doyle 4 56.5kg 107
14 11114×1 RUSSIAN REVOLUTION Peter & Paul Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 10 56.5kg 104
15 x12037x431 DERRYN David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Regan Bayliss 14 56.5kg 84

About The Author

Jared Timms

Jared graduated with a journalism degree in 2011. He is a keen sports fan and has enjoyed many accolades for his lively writing style and comprehensive coverage of major sporting events and horse racing. Today, you can find Jared cheering on his beloved Manchester City with a beer in hand.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *